10 Commonly Asked Questions About NC Labor Laws

10 Commonly Asked Questions About NC Labor Laws

Since you are not a lawyer, being blank about legalese and the laws is normal. Folks like you often ask attorneys questions like, are there any specific laws for salaried employees in NC? What are the rules for the rest?

Many more questions like these come across lawyers’ ways while talking with employed people.

Today, experts are here to address folks’ frequently asked questions about NC Labor Laws. Well, it’s good to know about the laws in this modern era, where you can get scammed due to a lack of understanding. Keep reading this article to get your questions answered!

9 Frequently Asked Questions About North Carolina Labor laws

With an understanding of the laws, you will be saved from committing unintentional crimes. So, if you are curious about comprehending the labor laws in north Carolina, go through the below-listed frequently asked questions.

What are wage laws in North Carolina?

The regular minimum wage in North Carolina equals a federal minimum wage of $7.25, while the tipped minimum wage is $2.13. If you talk about the subminimum pay, then it’s $4.25.

However, a few occupations are exempt from minimum wage law, including outside sales employees, minors, tipped employees, and computer employees earning $27.63 per hour.

None of these wages are related to North Carolina’s Exempt Employees.

What NC Payment Law Says?

Employers can choose how frequently they want to run payroll. Generally, they can opt from the following five payroll frequencies:-

  • Daily – Each day paid
  • Weekly – Once a week paid (52 paychecks annually)
  • Biweekly – Every other week paid (26 paychecks annually)
  • Semi-monthly – Twice a week paid (24 salaries annually)
  • Monthly – Once a month delivered (12 wages annually)

Note: Commission-based employees receive paychecks infrequently.

Do Mothers Have the Right to Breastfeed in Public?

Non-exempt employees can take reasonable breaks to breastfeed for one year after the child’s birth. However, there is no state law concerning breastfeeding during the shift or working hours.

Types of Leaves as per NC labor laws

There are two types of leaves in North Carolina that are as follows:-

  • Required leave
  • Non-required leave

Laws for child labor in North Carolina

To ensure that the minors work in a safe environment, employers must comply with various federal provisions related to child labor that are as follows:-

  • Breaks for minors
  • Restrictions on working time
  • Prohibited occupations

Occupations Prohibited for Minors

Folks under the age of 18 are prohibited from working in any of the below-listed occupations:-

  • Work requiring the use of respirators
  • Work with confined species
  • Electrician or electrician’s helper
  • Employment involving the risk of falling (10 feet or more)
  • Welding work, torch cutting, or brazing
  • Work involving silicon dioxide, quartz, or asbestos

Other Restrictions for Minors in NC

Minors 13 years of age or less are not allowed to work as per federal laws, except when:-

  • Delivering newspapers
  • Entertainment industry
  • Working for parents

The work time restrictions for minors in North Carolina are as follows:-

  • No more work than 3 hours when school is conducted
  • No more work than 8 hours on holidays

Hiring Laws in North Carolina

Employers with 15 or more working opportunities should treat people equally while hiring. The employment practices must not be based on the following:-

  • Color
  • Race
  • Religion
  • Sex
  • Age
  • National Origin
  • Political affiliation
  • Disability

Termination Laws in North Carolina

Though it depends on the employer whether to retain an employer or terminate, the decision must not be influenced by:-

  • Sex
  • Age
  • Religion
  • Color
  • Disability
  • Pregnancy

Recordkeeping laws in North Carolina

Every agency, institution, and department must maintain the following records for at least five years:-

  • Name
  • Age
  • Employment date
  • Contract terms
  • Current position
  • Salary
  • Date of increase & decrease in salary
  • Type of each promotion, demotion, dismissal, suspension, separation
  • Assigned office or station

In Summary

While living in North Carolina, you must understand the laws. This article rolls around the NC labor laws for minors and adults. Must read it if you are a non-exempt employee in North Carolina or plan on working for an employer.

With a basic understanding of labor laws, you can negotiate efficiently and leverage many other perks. Moreover, you can save yourself from committing crimes you are unaware of.

Author Bio


Pawan Kumar

Pawan Kumar holds substantial experience and knowledge of legal matters. He has mastered the art of writing content about legal issues. Kumar understands the subtle nuances and has penned notes for many legal firms. In his leisure time, he loves reading books to explore a whole new world.